AVALON HISTORY CENTER

New Jersey Digital Highway

The New Jersey Digital Highway is your "one stop shop" for New Jersey history and culture, from the collections of NJ libraries, museums, archives and historical societies. Digitized information includes text, pictorial, audio and video.

The Avalon Archive

The Avalon Archive contains digitized media scanned from source materials that document the history of Avalon. Currently, the collection includes Avalon Yacht Club Yearbooks starting in 1951-2007, The History of Avalon by Robert Matt  and John Fallon's "World War II Memories of A Combat Engineer", Army Engineer Magazine, November-December, 2009.

BUSINESS, FINANCE, & CAREER

Access Business News

Access up-to-the-minute regional, national, and global business news from a wide-ranging array of sources, including Kiplinger Publications, Market Wire, World Stock Wire, and many more.

Job & Career Accelerator

Job & Career Accelerator is a comprehensive resource with everything you need to find, apply for, and get hired. It delivers award-winning content, skills and interest assessments to match individuals with careers, cutting-edge job search tools, and extensive guidance to help overcome the challenging task of landing an internship or job. Offers everything job seekers need to create professional and competitive resumes and cover letters, search for jobs that fit their needs, give professional interviews, and more. 

Morningstar Investment Resource Center

Get real-time access to comprehensive data and independent analysis of thousands of investments -- mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds. Investment Research Center serves all levels of investors with a range of dynamic tools and thoughtful perspectives to help them make more informed investment decisions.

Reference Solutions

Continuously updated, Reference Solutions is the premier source of business and residential information for reference and research. Reference Solutions offers the most up-to-date data available in the market. Use Reference Solutions to:

  • Create Effective Marketing Plans
  • Conduct Competitive Analysis
  • Search Career Opportunities
  • Research Potential Business Areas

*Reference Solutions’ geo authentication feature allows patrons located within the state to access Reference Solutions without having to use a library card. To do so, you need to agree to the Reference Solutions ‘Terms and Conditions’ and share your location when prompted by their browser. If your location is within New Jersey your browser will be directed to the Reference Solutions homepage. If you prefer to block your location or are outside of New Jersey, you will be prompted to enter a library card to use this service.

Regional Business News

Updated daily, Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text articles for nearly 100 U.S. and Canadian business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). 

Small Business Reference Center

A collection of how-to guides, videos, and reference materials to help both new and experienced small business owners achieve a successful future.

GENEALOGY

Ancestry Library Edition

Through March 31st, 2021, use Ancestry Library Edition from home, courtesy of ProQuest and its partner Ancestry! 

Ancestry.com® is the world's largest online family history resource. Home to billions of historical records, and much more, Ancestry.com provides access a vast collection of U.S. and international documents online. Resources includes narratives, oral histories, indexes and abstracts to other resources. Search over 30,000 Ancestry.com record collections and 11 billion records with a click of a button. Record collections span the 1500s–2000s.

Family Search

FamilySearch.org is one of the most popular genealogical resources in the world. The site is sponsored by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and is free and available to the public. Visitors to FamilySearch.org can search over two billion digital images and indexes of records from all over the world. These records include government and church records for births, marriages, and deaths; censuses; probate records, land records, draft cards; and so forth. Millions of new records are published on a weekly basis.

HeritageQuest

HeritageQuest Online is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources -- rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. It delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources—with coverage dating back to the 1700s -- that can help people find their ancestors and discover a place’s past. HeritageQuest accesses US Census data, genealogical and history books, Periodical Source Index (PERSI), Revolutionary War records, Freedman's Bank records, and LexisNexis US Serial set. 

Newspapers.Com Global Edition for Libraries

Newspapers.com Global Edition for Libraries is a valuable tool for genealogical research. Thousands of US and global newspapers are available to search or browse. Find obituaries, death notices, marriage notices and articles about people, places and events from your family’s history. All you need to login is your library card number. 

Replaced

America's Historical Newspapers & Obituaries & Death Notices has been replaced by Newspapers.com Global Library Edition. 
The Library is no longer offering America's Genealogy Bank. Please try Ancestry from home or HeritageQuest. 
To leave feedback about these changes, please use our "Contact Us" form.

KIDS & TEENS

Driving-Test.org New Jersey Drivers Education Program

Free, interactive driver's permit sample tests for the State of New Jersey provided by Driving-Test.org help you prepare for the real deal! Included are car tests, motorcycle tests, CDL (Commercial Drivers License) tests, plus car, motorcycle and CDL drivers manuals. Also included is an informative FAQ section with detailed answers to 100+ DMV-related questions.

Explora

Ebsco's Go-To Resource for Student and Patron Research, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.

  • Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research.
  • High-quality articles licensed from reputable publishers, recognized by library professionals and selected for use in a school environment.
  • Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic to give students research ideas.

Novelist K-8

NoveList K-8 is an online readers' advisory tool aimed at elementary and middle school students. NoveList K-8 helps readers find new books based on books they've read or on topics in which they are interested. It also includes booktalks, picture book extenders, and Curricular Connections articles that will guide faculty to new titles and new ways for translating curriculum standards into classroom action.

Points of View Reference Center

Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, Points of View Reference Center provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

Scholastic Teachables

Scholastic Teachables has a wide variety of free printable worksheets, minibooks, practice pages, lesson plans and more for grades Pre-K through 8th. Your library card provides you with online access to more than 30,000 award-winning printables in a variety of subjects, such as American History, Animals, Science, Character & Values, Computers & the Internet, English & Reading, Geography, Math, and more. 
NOTE: To use this resource it must be acessed from this page each time so please bookmark this page for later use and not the Scholastic Printables page. 

Tutor.com

Available from 12pm to 12am, Tutor.com provides high quality live help for elementary through college students from expert tutors in more than 20 subjects including math, science, social studies, language arts, and even job search assistance. In addition, the Skills Center Resource Library offers thousands of vetted resources for all content areas 24/7. 

World Book Online Reference Center

The World Book you know and love -- online! The premier online reference source-containing every article from the 22-volume print set plus thousands more from biography and news databases. Access age-specific articles as well as academic research material.

LEARN

EBSCOhost Web

Doing research? EBSCOhost is very often the only tool you need. EBSCOhost includes access to thousands of magazine and journal articles, education resources, grade-level specific materials for students, and much, much, more. In addition, EBSCOhost provides cloud-storage for your bookmarked articles, and allows you to email and print articles. The interface is responsive, which makes using it on your phone or tablet easier than ever!

Legal Information Resource Center

Legal Information Reference Center is an online database designed to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds. It includes exclusive full text for many top consumer legal reference books, as well as thousands of legal forms. Popular resources include a range of full text NOLO Guides and legal forms sorted by state.

Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center features an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries & work overviews, full-text essays from leading publishers, literary reference books & monographs, cover-to-cover full text for literary magazines & journals, book reviews, poems, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and much more. In addition, Literary Reference Center includes Merriam Webster’s Encyclopedia of Literature, Beacham’s Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (six volumes), The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature, The Literary Encyclopedia, and all of MagillOnLiterature Plus.

Rosetta Stone

Use this fun, immersive and self-paced language learning software to learn one of 24 languages with tools like photo flash cards, video tutorials, grammar check, games, speech-checking (used in conjunction with your computer's microphone) and more! Watch the video below to learn more about the service, and click here to try it out!

NEWSPAPERS & MAGAZINES

Consumer Reports

The Consumer Reports you know and love, in a responsive, easy-to-use site. Login with your library card and you'll have access to thousands of unbiased product ratings and reviews. Search before you buy!

New York Times

Unlimited New York Times access is available online from home and inside the library!

For access from home, click the above "New York Times Online" link to sign in with your library card and for detailed instructions about how to redeem your code for unlimited access to current and past articles.

To access the New York Times within the library, sign on to the library's Wi-Fi, navigate to nytimes.com and create a login. Any time you are on our network and signed into the New York Times website you will have unlimited access to current and past articles.

Philadelphia Inquirer

It's easier than ever to read current and past issues of The Philadelphia Inquirer on your computer, tablet, and phone. Want to read today's paper? Login with your library barcode, then click on the front page to start reading. Back issues can be accessed using the calendar available once you are inside the current issue. 

Access to The Philadelphia Inquirer is now through the PressReader service. Find out how to use it here:

PressReader

PressReader provides seamless access to all your favorite publications, available streaming and to download. Discover 3,500+ digital magazines and 3,000+ regional and world newspapers. Access on the web and using iOS and Android apps. 

Wall Street Journal

Access The Wall Street Journal from anywhere!

Simply click here to create your account, and you can start using wsj.com immediately.

Your access will be available for the next 3 days.

After 3 days, simply come back and click the above link again and login as an existing user with the same username and password you originally create.

READER RESOURCES

New York Times Best Seller List

Keep track of what's new and popular with the New York Times Best Sellers lists.

Novelist

If you use apps or other tools to track the books you read, you'll love Novelist. It's a unique fiction database designed to help you find new fiction by comparing books you have already read and enjoyed. Novelist also provides study guides, reading level appropriate material, book group discussion questions, author websites, book reviews, and more!